“Uninsured motorist coverage protects you if you’re in an accident with an at-fault driver who doesn’t carry liability insurance. Underinsured motorist coverage, on the other hand, steps in when you’re in an accident with an at-fault driver whose liability limits are too low to cover the damage or medical expenses.”
Do I need uninsured motorist coverage in Connecticut if I have full coverage?
Yes, Connecticut state law requires every policy to carry minimum insurance requirements of $25,000 per person $50,000 per accident for Uninsured Motorist Coverage. Read more about Connecticut Uninsured Motorist Coverage.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage History
So why do states like Massachusetts and Connecticut require Uninsured Motorist Coverage? Premier Shield Insurance will take a close look at the history behind state law and requirements for uninsured motorist.
In 1927 Massachusetts became the first state to require the purchase of auto liability insurance. Since then 48 states and the District of Columbia have followed suit indegenerique.be. Such laws usually have the support of the public despite the fact that compliance with such laws is generally poor and enforcement activities are costly. Compulsory auto insurance laws do nothing to protect drivers involved in accidents with drivers of stolen vehicles or drivers from one of the two states where insurance is not compulsory, drivers of unregistered vehicles, the insurance dodger who cancels a policy immediately after receiving a proof-of-insurance certificate and the hit-and-run driver.