Home > The “Real Cost” Of a Mass Traffic Tickets 2019
The “Real Cost” Of a Mass Traffic Tickets 2019
The Real Cost is that these violations stay on your record for 6 YEARS!!!! Points have a life span of 6 years, after 6 years they are removed. Regardless of the additional points applied. This is why Mass traffic tickets can get expensive quickly.
However, that is from the surcharge date. I’ve seen tickets 4 years old just get surcharged so they impacted the driver for 10 years. If you were recently pulled over and were given a speeding or traffic ticket, violation and you want to know the impacts on your insurance rates.
First off, congratulations on being proactive! Most drivers like to ignore the problem, wait till they can see the increase, then scramble at the last minute to switch insurance companies. Getting quick and accurate car insurance quotes in Massachusetts can prove difficult and time-consuming. Let the experts at Premier Shield Insurance help you navigate the complex Massachusetts insurance market.
So in Massachusett, there are 2 types of traffic violations you can be charged with. You can be charged with 2 SDIP Points for a Minor Traffic Law Violation. You can also be charged with 5 SDIP Points for a and Major Traffic Law Violation.
Bad Driving Costs Billions to Society in 2019
As American’s we shell out over $40 billion dollars each year in speed-related car accidents and crashes. For more than two decades, speeding has been involved in approximately one-third of all motor vehicle fatalities. ( Source: NHTSA, 2018). Over 10,000 speeding deaths account for more than 1 in 4 of all traffic-related fatalities in 2016. Our youngest drivers are the most at-risk to die behind the wheel. Young drivers speeding was a factor in 31% of United State’s teen driver fatalities.
6.3 Million Police-Reported Traffic Accidents (2016)
Death reported were 37,461 while 2,443,000 were injured.
On average about 96 people die daily due to traffic crashes
What is Considered a Minor Traffic Law Violation?
In Massachusetts, you’ll add 2 points for minor traffic violations for civil violations like driving without a license, speeding, or failing to obey traffic lights
Failure to Yield (FTY)
Device or Sign Failure to Stop (FTS)
Following Too Close (FTC)
Driving as an unlicensed operator
What is Considered a Major Traffic Law Violation?
What have you done! I’ll be upfront and honest with you if you have one of the below violations. It is really bad and you are going to be surcharged 5 points and it will stay on your record for 6 years. Most normal standard carriers stop writing people at 5 points.
Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
Passing School Bus
Driving on a Suspended License
Leaving the Scene of an Accident
So How Much Will This Ticket Cost Me?
The answer is, it depends. In insurance carriers use several rating factors to determine your price. You can read more about Massachusetts Insurance Rating Factors here. You can also call 774-847-7746 for an insurance quote today.
SDIP Point Insurance Quote Request
Nobody likes dealing with paying insurance companies more money. Request a quote below and we’ll try our best to see if we can reduce your monthly payments.
Frequently Asked Questions About Appealing an Insurer’s Record – Mass.gov
Safe driving is better for you, better for me (your insurance agent), and better for the insurance companies. We all spend less money, have fewer headaches and we don’t have the stress associated with getting points in Massachusetts.