When it comes to insurance penalties for not having insurance and tickets, you’re going to be much better off giving us a call 1-774-847-7746 and quickly finding the most affordable auto policy for your budget.
Premier Shield Insurance is here to give you the best policy while helping you to reinstate your vehicle registration quickly.
Driving Unregistered Vehicle Massachusetts
There are several harsh penalties can occur when you are caught driving without insurance in the state of Massachusetts.
Mass considers driving without insurance a civil motor vehicle infraction (CMVI). Having your registration revoked for no insurance Massachusetts is a big deal.
Depending on the circumstances, you could face a $5,000 fine, up to one year in jail and the loss of your driving privileges for an entire year. On top of this, an additional fee of at least $150 is required to be paid to the assigned risk plan (MAIP).
The state of Massachusetts requires drivers to carry the following minimum amounts of liability insurance: a minimum of $20,000 for bodily injury per person, $40,000 bodily injury per accident, $8,000 of personal injury protection, $5,000 of property damage and 20/40 of uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury.
Step 1: Insurance Cancellation
When your insurance cancels (typically for cancel for non-payment) you have about 6 days to reinstate your policy before your Massachusetts vehicle registrations become “REVOKED“.
The best thing you can do is immediately reinstate your policy and get the cancel for non-payment removed from the registry.
Step 2: Revoked Registration & Car Uninsured Massachusetts Vehicle
If your registration is revoked you typically won’t find out unless you’re pulled over or you ask an insurance agent. Give us a call, we’ll tell you. You should immediately stop driving until you start an active insurance policy.
Securing an auto policy will allow you to drive, do not drive until you have purchased a new policy or reinstated your old policy.
Step 3: Registration Reinstatement & Active Massachusetts Car Insurance
Once you have called us and purchase a new auto policy, we will help you with getting your registration reinstated. The first step will be our agents create an RMV-3 or an RMV-1 depending on how long your plates have been revoked. Typically within 3 weeks, you don’t have to get new plates.
You will take the RMV-3 down to the registry and they will provide you with an updated registration.
Massachusetts Revoked Registration Car Insurance Quote