Premier Shield Insurance would like to highlight for existing customers and current Massachusetts drivers the “Massachusetts Hands-Free While Driving” because law starting February 23, 2020.
Due to the high fatality rate (14% of all deadly crashes in the United States involved the use of a cell phone) new safe driver laws have been implemented in the state of Massachusetts.
Safe driving is important in Massachusetts and it’s vital for MA motorists to avoid fines and infractions for using any electronic device, including mobile telephones unless the device is used in hands-free mode.
Penalty for Violating the Massachusetts Hands-Free Law
You have a few days to get off with a “warning for hands-free law violations”, once the grace period ends expect a fine.
Fines will begin in spring 2020; first offense will cost drivers $100. Massachusetts drivers are just days away from being required to put down their phones. The legislation banning the use of handheld electronic devices while driving was passed by lawmakers in November, after about 17 years of debate
First Offense for Massachusetts Hands-Free Law Violation – The First Citation you will get is for $105fine.
Second Offense for Massachusetts Hands-Free Law Violation – $255fine, plus mandatory completion of a distracted driving educational program. ( Drivers with a 2nd and subsequent offenses will also be mandated to attend an RMV “Registry of Motor Vehicles” distracted driving program )
Third Offense for Massachusetts Hands-Free Law Violation – $505 fine, plus insurance surcharge and mandatory completion of a distracted driving educational program.
What does this mean for Massachusetts Drivers?
If you are over 18 years old, here are your penalties outside of the fines:
You can only use electronic devices + mobile phones in hands-free mode and are only permitted to touch devices to activate the hands-free mode.
You are not allowed to hold or support any electronic phone or device.
You may not touch the device or phone except to activate the hands-free mode. You can only enable when the device is installed or properly mounted to the windshield, dashboard, or center console in a manner that does not impede the operation of the motor vehicle.
You are not allowed to touch phones or devices for texting, emailing, apps, video, or internet use.
You may use a device or phone activation of GPS navigation which is permitted when the phone or device is installed or properly mounted.
You may use the phone or device if using “Handheld use” only if the vehicle is both stationary and not located in a public travel lane or a bicycle lane, but is not allowed at red lights or stop signs.